Using the Locking extension (AEN 4.2.0)#
Multi-user capabilities are engaged in AEN when multiple users work in the same notebook file.
The Locking extension allows you to lock a notebook to prevent multiple team members from making changes at the same time. Notebooks are automatically locked when you open them.
If team members open a notebook and make changes while it is locked, their save capability is disabled, and they cannot overwrite the notebook.
To override the lock, they must actively take control of the locked file by clicking the Lock icon in the Notebook menu bar:
NOTE: This is a soft locking model. Team members can choose to override your lock to save their work. If you give team members write access to your files, confirm that they understand that they should never unlock your file unless they are making meaningful, non-destructive team contributions.